Taurus Tracker 44mag

This is a discussion on Taurus Tracker 44mag within the Wheel Guns forums, part of the Other Firearms category; Hey all, Been a while since I've posted, but as I know this community is more than willing to give honest opinions, I wanted to ...

Thread: Taurus Tracker 44mag

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. #1 Taurus Tracker 44mag 
    Hey all,

Been a while since I've posted, but as I know this community is more than willing to give honest opinions, I wanted to ask yours about the Taurus Tracker in 44mag. I have wanted a big bore wheelgun for the past couple years, but haven't been able to afford one until now. It is for some casual plinking and trail carry, not CC (LCP plenty IMHO for that). I'm no novice to big bore, I'm confident I can handle the caliber, but as far as reliability/general experience, nothing is better than first hand. Any and all thoughts welcome,

http://www.taurususa.com/product-det...rumbseries=CF2

2. #2 Re: Taurus Tracker 44mag 
    Funny you should mention that. My friends said I was in a "rut" on my small assortment so I just picked up the Taurus 608 (used at the last gun show), which is the 8 shot 357, with the 6 1/4" barrel. (It's funny to put it next to the LCP) My criteria was "big, shiny, make a really big boom." Haven't gotten to the range with it yet, but my logic was I could use the longer barrel with a scope at some point if I chose, plus I had more options for ammo (38 special or 357) that wouldn't necessarily be available for a .44, which has limited choices. Had a difficult time finding anything really negative about it on the web. Tracker is most comparable to this, so we should have fun discovering.

3. #3 Re: Taurus Tracker 44mag 

Have fun with the Judge, a friend of mine has one and swears by it. My personal preference is of course the Ruger Super Redhawk in .44 Mag. with a 2 1/2 in barrel.

I don't carry a weapon and look for trouble, I carry one in case trouble finds me.

4. #4 Re: Taurus Tracker 44mag