Ruger Pistol Forums banner

Surface finish scratched on the barrel.

7K views 12 replies 10 participants last post by  grworrall 
#1 ·
First of all wish to say Hi to all Experts on this great forum!
My first post here today!

I'm pretty new to firearms. I visited range occasionally during last couple of years, but I bought an LCP and Glock 19 Gen 4 this August. I'm trying to visit range now once per one or two weeks.

I do have question about maintenance of LCP and would love to hear your advise and opinions.

My LCP is of simplest variety (non stainless slide), latest gen (no dashes in SN), which I upgraded with CT laser recently. I love this gun so far. It is not as easy to shoot as her bigger brother G19, but it surely is fun, and I love ease of concealment!

I'm using rather dirty ammo now (AMSCOR PRECISION) so have to do quite a lot of cleaning after each range trip.

For both guns I use FrogLube kit (liquid cleaner, and CLP in form of paste and gel). I do not use anything else - FrogLube supposed to work as both cleaner and lubricant. I'm spending quite a lot of time for cleaning - usually it takes me abouth 2 - 2.5 hours to fully clean both... I know it's likely an overkill, but I like to do it to be honest.... For FrogLube's application I'm using recommended routine involving heat gun to heat metal parts before applying CLP paste.

I fired 152 rounds so far (2 HP which I carry with, 50 reloads bought from the range owner and 100 AMSCOR new ammo). I would love to do more, but .380 ammo is rare and expensive these days, so have to be frugal with it...

After cleaning my gun last time, I noticed that finish surface on the barrel is scratched a bit. Not really scratched, I could see a bit of shiny metal on it. It is noticeable near muzzle end all around and on top especially, and on the lateral sides of the chamber which rub against the slide.